Digital Resources, Online Databases and more

 

 

Whether you want to learn a new language (Mango), prepare for a new career (Career Cruising), find ratings on electronic equipment (Consumer Reports) or simply consult an encyclopedia why not take advantage of all the online databases that are available to you.

 

All library members  with a Multi card can access all of the databases below.  If you are not yet a member, why not think about joining? 

 

  

 

Annuaire des subventions au Québec

 

Subsidies, grants & loans and government programs for businesses, non-profit organizations and personal projects.

 

 

Britannica Online


The complete encyclopedia is now online, just enter your library card number to get access.

 

 

beanz: The magazine for kids, code and computer science

 

 An online magazine to help kids code and explore computer science.

  

 

 

Britannica Image Quest  (access inside the Library)

 

Britannica Image Quest (remote access)

 

Do you need to find images to improve the look of your documents.  With Britannica Image Quest, you can access approximately 3,000,000 rights-cleared images from the best collections in the world.

 

 

Canadian Major Dailies

 

Coverage: 1985 - current 

 

This is the core of Canadian Newsstand. Included are national and leading regional papers such as National Post, Calgary Herald, Edmonton Journal, Montreal Gazette, Ottawa Citizen, Regina Leader Post and the Vancouver Sun.

 

 

 

Canadian Reference Centre

 

Full text articles from the most important Canadian  and more than 400 international  (USA and UK) magazines. Full text for leading Canadian newspapers and newswires.  Also contains  full text Canadian reference books, biographies,and an important collection of photographs, maps and flags. 

 

 

 Canadian subsidy directory


Subsidies, grants, loans and government programs for businesses, non-profit organizations and personal projects.

 

  

Career Cruising

 

Looking for a job or a new career? 

 

Career Cruising has information designed for jobseekers of all ages.  This database contains assessment tools, detailed career profiles and comprehensive post-secondary information, resumé builder, employment guide and more.


 

  

Chilton

 

Chilton Library provides photographs, diagnostics, step-by-step repair procedures, maintenance schedules, wiring diagrams, recalls and technical Service Bulletins for automobiles and light trucks. Domestic and import vehicle information updated monthly.

 


Consumer Reports

 

Looking to make a purchase but need more information

before you make a decision?

 

With Consumer Reports you can find product reviews and ratings on cars, electronics, appliances, electronics and much more.  This database provides product ratings, reviews, recommendations and buying advice that will help you to make an informed decision.

 


Contemporary Literary Criticism (Vol. 1 - 279)


Excerpts from criticism of the works of novelists, poets, playwrights, short story writers, scriptwriters a
nd other creative writers.

 


Eureka Biblio branchée  (local access)

 

Eureka Biblio branchée (remote access)

 

Canadian and international news in English and French. 

 

A wide range of sources: national,  regional and even local news.  "The Chronicle" and "Cités Nouvelles" are indexed since 2006.

 

 

The Gazette Digital Online

ProQuest Digital Microfilm

  

 

Health and Wellness Resource Center

 

This comprehensive consumer health resource provides accurate, authoritative information on a full range of health-related issues. It includes in-depth coverage of traditional medical practices as well as of alternative and complementary practices. Articles cover topics ranging from fitness, pregnancy, nutrition, diseases, alcohol and drug abuse, prescription drugs, and many others. 

 


Literary Reference Center


A broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.  Full-text includes author biographies, book reviews, literary magazines and journals, masterplots, poems and short stories.

 

 

Lynda.com

 

Lynda.com is widely recognized as the industry leader in online learning. There are thousands of video tutorials led by experts. Courses are organized by subject, software, and instructor. Top courses include app development, management tips, logo design, Wordpress, Excel, photography techniques and marketing tips.

 

 

 Mango Languages

 

Want to learn a new language?  Going on vacation and want to be able to converse with the people in that country?  Then Mango is for you!  

 

Mango is an online language-learning system that offers over 44 language courses (basic and more advanced).  Learn Spanish, French, Japanese, German, Portuguese, Mandarin, Greek or Italian!  If English is not your first language you can also find English lessons on Mango.

 


NoveList Plus


Readers’ advisory service where you can find books in a variety of ways by searching title, author or plot.  In NoveList you will find info on over 160 000 fiction titles and 60 000 non fiction titles..

 

 

 PRDH

 

The Research Program in Historical Demography.

 

 

Repère

 

615,000 references to French language magazine articles. Includes full text for over 24,700 articles.

 

 


Salem Press

 

LITERATURE -- HISTORY -- HEALTH

 

LiteratureMasterplots analyzes the most important works in all genres throughout history and around the world.

 

Historical: Great events from history; Great lives from history, Milestone documents and musicians and composers.

 

Salem Health: Cancer.  Information about over 900 topics in cancer. Includes diseases, conditions, medications, procedures, specialists, social issues, personal coping tips, print and online academic resources, and support resources.

 

Current topics: Selected essays from Salem Press to help explore current events.

 

 

TumbleBooks 

 

TumbleBooks is an online collection of animated talking picture books for kids

  

 

Universalis Adultes


The most important French language encyclopedia with over 33 000 articles, 24 000 illustrations and videos and sound recordings.

 

 

 Universalis Junior

 

This is the most important French language encyclopedia : 33 000 articles, 24 000 illustrations including videos and sound recordings.

 

 

World Book Encyclopedia

 

Provides access to:

 

Kids

Student

Advanced

Timelines

Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos

L'encyclopédie Découverte

 

 



Any questions? Ask a librarian

RSS Feed - Contact us - City of Pointe-Claire

©2017 Pointe-Claire Public Library